Welcome Page

News

22 April 2016

The CERN Theoretical Physics Department is seeking to fill several six-year research staff positions in the area of theoretical particle physics in its broadest sense, including quantum field theory, string theory, particle phenomenology, and cosmology. Expressions of interest or nominations should be sent to <th.ld.staffsearch@cern.ch>.

All information will be treated with strict confidentiality. For further information please contact the CERN Theoretical Physics Department Head, Gian Giudice <Gian.Giudice@cern.ch>.

13 April 2016

Fabrizio Caola is one of this year's two winners of the Guido Altarelli prize.

The Altarelli prize honours the memory of the late Guido Altarelli, a pioneer of the unravelling of the strong interaction and the structure of hadrons, an outstanding communicator of particle physics, and a mentor and strong supporter of Junior Scientists.

It is awarded to a Junior Scientist for an outstanding scientific contribution to the field covered by the DIS Conferences series.

24 March 2016

The CERN Theoretical Physics Department is seeking to fill a permanent research staff position in the area of theoretical particle physics in its broadest sense, which includes quantum field theory, string theory, particle phenomenology, and cosmology. We are looking for an outstanding researcher with internationally recognised leadership in his/her field.

Expressions of interest or nominations should be sent to <th.ic.staffsearch@cern.ch>.
All information will be treated with strict confidentiality. A review of potential candidates will begin May 15, 2016 and will continue until the position is filled. For further information please contact the CERN Theoretical Physics Department Head, Gian Giudice <Gian.Giudice@cern.ch>.

Workshops & TH Institutes

The new HEPData

Monday, 25 April 2016
LPCC

HH at HL-LHC

Tuesday, 10 May 2016
LPCC

LHC TOP WG meeting

Tuesday, 17 May 2016 to Wednesday, 18 May 2016
LPCC

Guido Altarelli Memorial Symposium

Friday, 10 June 2016
Workshop

(Re)interpreting the results of new physics searches at the LHC

Wednesday, 15 June 2016 to Friday, 17 June 2016
LPCC

Emergent properties of space-time

Monday, 20 June 2016 to Friday, 1 July 2016
TH Institute

Proton and Photon-induced nuclear collisions at the LHC

Wednesday, 6 July 2016 to Friday, 8 July 2016
Workshop

ULtra-RelatIvistiCH HEavy IoNZ 2016

Monday, 18 July 2016 to Wednesday, 20 July 2016
Workshop

Charting the Unknown: interpreting LHC data from the energy frontier

Monday, 25 July 2016 to Friday, 12 August 2016
TH Institute

The Big Bang and the little bangs - Non-equilibrium phenomena in cosmology and in heavy-ion collisions

Monday, 15 August 2016 to Friday, 26 August 2016
TH Institute

TeV Particle Astrophysics 2016

Monday, 12 September 2016 to Friday, 16 September 2016
Workshop