Emergent properties of space-time

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on

The low-energy dynamics of physical systems often exhibit nontrivial emergent phenomena. Among them, those related to the properties of space-time, such as enhanced symmetries and emergent geometry, have a special status. 

Recently there has been a lot of interest in their systematic study. This is largely due to the development of tools to handle strong dynamics, where these phenomena occur most efficiently. The different methods range from lattice theory and quantum simulation to non-perturbative characterization of scale invariant field theories (relativistic and non-relativistic) and gauge/gravity duality. 

The purpose of the TH Institute is to bring together researchers in the fields of Quantum
field theory (FT), Conformal FT, Lattice FT, Holography, Condensed Matter and Quantum Mechanics interested in the following broad topics:

  • Emergence of space-time symmetries (Poincarè, SUSY, conformal...) in the context of Lattice Field Theories, Quantum Gravity, Condensed Matter Systems and Quantum Simulators
  • Renormalization group flows in non-relativistic theories
  • Quantum and classical simulations for generic RG flows
  • Emergent geometry in the context of Holography and Discrete Systems
  • Emergent phenomena at zero and nonzero density/temperature

We plan to have a fairly relaxed daily schedule (two or three talks per day), in order to have plenty of time for discussions.

Key-speakers include:

  • John Donoghue
  • Ben Freivogel
  • Leonardo Giusti
  • Igor Herbut
  • Diego Hofman
  • Petr Hořava
  • Etsuko Itou
  • Jared Kaplan 
  • Jose Ignacio Latorre
  • Sunk-Sik Lee
  • Stefano Liberati
  • Renata Loll 
  • Juan Maldacena
  • Yannick Meurice
  • Javier Molina-Vilaplana
  • Román Orús
  • Fernando Patawski
  • Joao Penedones
  • Jörg Schmiedmayer 
  • Marco Serone
  • Dam Than Son
  • Julian Sonner
  • Xiao-Gang Wen 
  • Cenke Xu


TH Theory Conference Room
TH institutes
Category ID
Indico iCal
Start Date
End Date
Event Chairs
Agostino Patella,Diego Blas Temino,Kyriakos Papadodimas,Sergey Sibiryakov,David Zueco,Oriol Pujolas